Breakfast at our house

22 Apr

Early morning and it is time for breakfast. At our hose that usually means toast and different types of lunch meats, home made jam, and cheese spread. A while back we were getting to a point where breakfast meant tantrums screaming and very little eating so we realized it was time to give our little one some more choices and the opportunity to be more independent at meal times. So now mealtime looks something like this.

I butter my own toast, then chose my own topping. This time I was in the mood for some liver pate.

Mmm good stuff

After finishing my first piece of toast I usually ask for more. I still use my baby sign language even though I know how to say more.

Then I drink some milk and ask for another piece of toast.

After eating the cheese spread of my last piece of toast.

I let my mom know that I am full by patting my belly and saying ba ba bie. Which means I am full,thank you for breakfast, but only she seems to understand that.

The screaming fits have disappeared and she now usually eats more then me for breakfast, but of cause this also means more of a mess. The milk usually gets spilled at least once and there is usually jam pretty much everywhere, But that’s all a part of growing up if you ask me. The trick is just to clean up, have positive attitude and not make a big fuss or be tempted to get angry or yell.

4 Responses to “Breakfast at our house”

  1. nannies April 22, 2010 at 11:36 #

    The blog is really nice one and full of information we appreciate the kind of information you have provided in this post. The information are so useful for all of us and we would like to thank you from the bottom of our heart for this wonderful information.

    • shja April 22, 2010 at 19:01 #

      Thank you for your kind comment.

  2. montessorimatters May 8, 2010 at 10:57 #

    May I just say how much I enjoyed this simple and yet very telling post??? Kudos to you for having such a positive attitude… Your little one will reap the benefits!

    • shja May 9, 2010 at 18:36 #

      Thank you. She sure loves to eat breakfast like this. Makes me happy to see here being so independent and happy to.

Leave a Reply

