Hallway Shoe and coat rack

26 May

So I already showed you Benita’s hallway that I love over on Chez Larsson.  And I am very happy to introduce my own home made version.

So proud of my hubby who put it together for me. I did the drawings on Auto Cad first and then Josh did all the cuts and put it all together. And I must say I love it. We had been trying to figure out the best way to get some storage in the hallway and we didn’t really want to put in a big bulky cabinet since our hallway was already so small.  So an open solution was the perfect thing to allow some air and the feeling of some more space in the hallway.

The wall was not a straight wall but had a notch in it between what is the old part and an addition. This was somewhat of a problem until we thought of the idea of making the shoe shelf in two parts, one big one for us and a smaller one for Olivia. She loves playing with her shoes and putting them away inn the shoe shelf.  She has a bit of a shoe fetish that girl. She is not quite tall enough to reach the hooks for her jackets yet. But give her a few months and shell have that down as well.

One thing i regret is doing the clothing rod straight across like this. When all our jackets are up it takes up a lot of space so I will keep my eyes open for some rods that can hang out from the wall instead. We can fit two of those and that way still be able to hang the same amount of jackets. I will be adding a few baskets for the top to store rain pants and winter gear in.  But so far I am real happy with the amount of storage this gives us. Thanks again Benita for the great idea.

8 Responses to “Hallway Shoe and coat rack”

  1. Benita May 31, 2010 at 07:39 #

    That looks awesome! Olivia’s version is too cute🙂

    • shja May 31, 2010 at 22:56 #

      Thank you Benita. We are very happy with it.

  2. Lisa June 10, 2010 at 04:09 #

    Hello, I saw your comment on Anna Maria Horners blog about making a sleeping bag. I would like to see what you make! My daughters need one and i certainly don’t like the options I see for little girls.

    It occurs to me that “sleeping bag” in Norway may be something different than in the US.

    I like your blog, i read the whole thing. You have a beautiful home and i think we are kindred spirits with our love of organizing and making photos of orderly drawers. It makes me happy!

    I’ll keep my eyes out for the sleeping bag!

    Lisa

    • shja June 10, 2010 at 12:43 #

      Yes I guess sleeping bag might be something different to you. My daughter will be using hers for sleeping in her stroller outside. (that’s where baby’s nap in Norway.)
      I will post the bag when it is finished and I will send you a note to let you know. I’m still waiting for the fabric so it will be a little while still. I know of some links to pages with instructions I will send you some links. They are in Norwegian but have photos so they may be to some use.
      Great to hear from you Lisa. Hope you will keep reading.

  3. Siri October 21, 2010 at 21:22 #

    Wao så flink dere er da! Har så lyst på en sånn i den nyoppussede gangen vår… Men blir ikke et diy prosjekt her med det første… Var utrolig søtt med den barne seksjonen! Syns jeg ser sønnen min bruke en slik!Grattis og hils mannen og si han e flink å snekre!

    • shja October 21, 2010 at 21:54 #

      Takk Siri. Ikke så vanskelig som det ser ut. Men det er lett for meg å si som ikke trengte å bygge den..

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Lagring på gangen, Hallway storage « Shja's Blog - February 4, 2011

    […] er fortsatt veldig fornøyd med hyllen vi lagde til gangen vår (les mer her). Den oppbevarer en hel masse sko og klær og sørger for at gangen for det meste er fri for rot. […]

  2. Lagring på gangen, Hallway storage « Shja's Blog - February 4, 2011

    […] Feb Jeg er fortsatt veldig fornøyd med hyllen vi lagde til gangen vår (les mer her). Den oppbevarer en hel masse sko og klær og sørger for at gangen for det meste er fri for rot. […]

Leave a Reply

