En gave, A gift

7 Jan

 

Jeg hadde liggende et strikkeprosjekt som ikke var helt ferdig og dermed var blitt for lite for tulla det var ment til (Olivia) Da jeg fikk høre at en venn av meg ventet en liten gutt i februar under veldig spesielle omstendigheter  tenkte jeg med en gang på dette prosjektet og gravde det frem fra strikkekurven. Les mer om Lachlan  her, en historie som minner oss om at alle barn er en stor gave og at ikke alle får den samme starten i livet..  Det manglet bare armer før det var ferdig. Så et par kvelder senere og bodyen var ferdig med et par matchende sokker selvfølgelig. Det ble strikket i Alpaca fra drops og mønsteret er fra boken”Myk Start”.  Håper den faller i smak og holder den lille gutten god og varm i de kommende enda ganske kalde månedene.

 

 

I had this project in my knitting basket that was not quite finished and was by now to small for the child it was intended for (Olivia) So when I heard that the author of one of my favorite blogs was expecting a boy in February under very special circumstances  I immediately thought of this project and brought it out from bottom of my basket. Read more about Lachlan here, its a story that reminds us that every child is a gift and that not everyone gets the same start in life. It was only missing the arms, and after a few nights of knitting it was ready with a pair of matching socks. The yarn is Alpaca from Drops and the pattern is from a book called “Soft beginnings”. I hope it will come to use and will keep the little baby boy warm as he recovers in the still cold months ahead.

 

4 Responses to “En gave, A gift”

  1. Kerri February 12, 2011 at 12:55 #

    This is seriously the most beautiful baby outfit I have ever seen. I’m sure Meg will love it.

    • shja February 12, 2011 at 18:59 #

      Thank you so much. It is one of my favorites as well. Practical and cute.

  2. Michelle February 15, 2011 at 04:13 #

    Dear Shja,

    I actually found your blog (which is beautiful by the way – you have such amazing taste!) through Meg’s as I have been following her for a while. I can see why she is so full of gratitude for such gorgeous handmade gifts, these are so special.

    I was wondering if you had the author’s details from the book you referenced with the pattern, I would love to make one for my newest cousin due this May.

    Thanks in advance,

    Michelle

    • shja February 15, 2011 at 10:11 #

      The author is May B. Langhelle. But the book is only available in Norwegian. She has a blog and her email is mayb-la@frisurf.no I don’t see that she has any patterns online but maybe they are available some other way.
      Good luck and congratulations on the new cousin.

Leave a Reply

